YG from the inside….

As we continue to flow with this amazing movement, we thought it would be great to share some insight and other perspectives from numerous people who have spent time with Yoga Gangsters…this week…our incredible and AMAZING intern Gabrielle C. — We wish you much abundance of success on your journey and look forward to sharing the mat with you on September 22!!!!  #ygchallenge #myservice

          Ever since the first day I started my journey with Yoga Gangsters, there was nothing but excitement and eagerness running through me.  I have been thrown into the life of a yogi since I was little. My mom a yoga teacher and nurse used yoga to help her struggling patients. I got to witness everyday how yoga can help someone get his or her strength back not only physically but also mentally. When my mom passed away I knew that I want to continue my moms work in any way I can. I have always been the shy and soft-spoken person so I knew being a yoga teacher and up front in the action was not really for me but then I came across Yoga Gangsters and I was sucked in. When, I was presented with the opportunity to work with Yoga Gangsters this summer, I couldn’t wait to get started.  As I started my journey, I was lucky to be working closely with Jodi. I will never forget the first time I met Jodi and I said to her I am excited to be reporting to you this summer and she corrected me and said you are not reporting to me, I am guiding you on this journey. That one moment of kindness and support from someone I just met really made me feel like Yoga Gangsters is where I needed to be.

            My journey with Yoga Gangsters started off doing a lot of behind the scenes work, which I enjoyed a lot but then I was thrown right into assisting with my fellow Yoga Gangsters volunteers. My first day of working with Girl Power Rocks was one of the scariest moments because I didn’t know what to expect. But right when I stepped in the kid’s smiles and laughter throughout the class touched my heart. I was there to just observe but the excitement sucked me in. The kids were just as timid as me the first time we were there but when we came back every week they started to enjoy the power of yoga. They became focused and wanted to try the hard moves and came back with researched moves they wanted to practice. It brought me peace when I would help them get into that headstand or just watch the girl be relaxed and find peace within themselves. There was one little girl that touched my heart; she always asked me if I was going to be back next week so I can be her partner. The moment I walked through the door week after week and saw her smile was really something. She smiled because I promised I would be back and didn’t break that promise. It will be sad not spending every Thursday with the girls of Girl Power Rocks but I have a feeling this wont be the last time I witness the positive effects of yoga.

            This summer has brought me so much joy and excitement. It was one of the best journeys I have taken. I would like to believe that my journey with Yoga Gangsters has just started and I will continue to be inspired on and off the mat. Thank you Terri, Claire, Natalya, and Jodi for getting my journey started.

Namaste,

Gabrielle Christina

1 Comment on YG from the inside….

  1. I am so proud of you and the work you are doing. I believe YOGA can change lives. Great work!

Leave a Reply

